Brand New World

If you read my “About” page you know that this is a new adventure for me. I’ve been a Glass Artist for about 13 years. So Mixed Media and Art Journaling are very new to me. I’m a little freaked out by Mixed Media… I won’t even lie. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and Mixed Media to me seems very imperfect and even messy at times. It will be very hard to just let go, but I’m hoping that the more I do it, the more I’ll love it. And I think it will be good for me. Striving for perfection isn’t always a good thing. It’s good to let go and have fun. And PLAY!

So here I am playing…

1378783_10200730616253585_696211474_nI hate having my picture taken, but my sister made me. But as you can see from the photo I’m having a lot of fun so I’m glad she captured the moment.

Here is my crazy sister Laura! Crazy in a good way… I think.

1381213_10200730614933552_128449346_n

You might be asking, what are you guys doing??? You’re supposed to paint WITH the paint brush, not ON the paint brush! Well, here are my husband’s most hated 5 words… I saw it on Pinterest. As I was looking for inspiration to get started in Mixed Media and Art Journaling I came across some pictures of altered paint brushes. I thought they were such a cool idea. And not too scary as a first project because they aren’t very big and the brush was less than a dollar from the local big box store. So I thought, why not… let’s give it a shot!

So my sister came over with her art supplies and combined with my art supplies we had a good amount to work with. This was also a special occasion because it was the first project I did in my new craft room. It’s not quite finished yet, as apparent by the missing molding around the closet opening behind my sister in that photo, but I’m getting there. I’ll be sharing more of that adventure in another post.

558830_10200731654519541_722247344_n

Here are the first 2 brushes that I made. They aren’t perfect and didn’t turn out exactly like I thought they would, but I really like them. I made a couple mistakes while making them, but I always see that as a learning experience. Now I know that using elmer’s glue to make polka dots and then adding glitter to them doesn’t really work. The peaks on the glue were so high and it looked weird. Maybe next time less glue or a different type of glue. I don’t know. But I had to scrap them all off. It think the ombre style glitter on my second attempt turned out really well though. So I’m happy with how they both turned out.

946024_10200731653799523_593732945_n

These are the brushes my sister did! She got a jump start on me and made 5 altered brushes. I had to leave for a bit for a meeting so being the busy little beaver that she is, she just kept creating. She used many different items and techniques so they are all different and unique.

1383990_677051995640912_1265783001_n

Here is my third altered brush attempt. To tell you the truth, the “friends” at the bottom is not secured on there. After my sister left I didn’t have a glue gun to secure it. I recently moved and I am still missing a couple of boxes that were supposed to go in my craft room. My sweet sister has lent me her backup glue gun now so I can finish it. Hopefully, I find my stuff soon or her backup glue gun will become “Angela’s New Glue Gun”!

Well, this was my first attempt at Mixed Media Art or Altered Brush Art. I’m excited with how everything turned out and I’m looking forward to making some more. Then at some point, sooner than later, I’ll have to conquer my fear of creating on canvas. Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading.

BlogSignature

P.S. Sorry about the wonky pictures. I still can’t find my photo booth set up, but when I do the pictures will look much better.

Leave a Reply

