First Art Journal page – kinda

So I attempted to make my first art journal page. I see these as messy, fun, lots of layers but my page didn’t turn out that way. My perfectionism has reared it’s ugly head again. I’m having a hard time letting go. When I want to create a random pattern in any form, I plan out its randomness. How crazy is that??? I think maybe I’m having such a tough time with this because I don’t want to make something ugly and have people say, “See! She’s not an artist!” But what do I care? Who makes them the expert to judge me? I’m having fun and that’s all that matters. Right?

So on to the project…

20131021-083741.jpg

Here is my blank journal page and my watercolor pencils.

20131021-083850.jpg

I drew a heart and shaded it darker on one side.

20131021-083929.jpg

I wanted the heart to pop from the background so I started to add this deep blue around it with my finger. Why not? Painting with your fingers is fun and messy!

20131021-084243.jpg

I went around the entire heart with the deep blue and now I’m adding a lighter shade around the outside. I just used the same blue and added some white to it.

20131021-084416.jpg

I added all the lighter blue around the outside. Then I added more of the deep blue close to the heart so I could pull it out over the lighter blue. I wasn’t getting the look I wanted with my finger so I switched to a baby wipe. As I was pulling the paint I didn’t realize that the back of the baby wipe was dragging across the heart. Opps!

20131021-084807.jpg

The heart was looking kind of weak against that intense background so I decided to go over it with some acrylic paints. I dabbed with my finger and created this peaked texture. I used two different shades of pink, a mixture of the two and some white. I’m pretty happy with the look of this.

20131021-085055.jpg

I used a fat nib Pitt pen and a medium nib paint pen to create the outlines around the heart.

20131021-085228.jpg

I used some pretty scrolly stamps to create this effect. I did run into a problem though. The spiral kept getting in the way when I was trying to stamp. I think next time I’ll buy a bound book or I’ve been toying with the idea of making my own. We’ll see.

20131021-085526.jpg

I added some paint dots inside the heart and randomly (as best as I can do random) around the outside. I just used the back of my paint brush.

20131021-085720.jpg

I had planned from the beginning that the page would say something. So I thought I’d add, Love makes the world go round. I wanted to put an emphasis on the word Love so I decided to cut it out from some scrapbook paper and my Silhouette Cameo machine.

20131021-090053.jpg

Here is a graphic I found in my files.

20131021-090142.jpg

Love all cut out. I added some deeper pink around the edges with a marker, but it bled into the paper quite a bit. I decided just to go with it. Not the effect I was going for, but it’s not too bad.

20131021-090347.jpg

Not too much room down here. I’m not sure I like the word on there at all.

20131021-090458.jpg

Here is the rest of the phrase. I printed it out on some cardstock and added pink distress ink with a blending tool.

20131021-090654.jpg

20131021-090723.jpg

Maybe it’s better without the phrase? I really can’t decide. My husband came home and thought my page was beautiful. He suggested that we scan it in and use it for a gallery wrap. You know, those wall hangings that look like a painted canvas (no frame), but are really printed. They are a great way to have beautiful art on your wall without having to pay for an original art piece.

If I decide to go that route I would want to leave the words off so I could add in a saying digitally. I really don’t know what to do. I’m actually all little surprised that he thought it was good enough to sell as a gallery wrapped canvas art piece.

20131021-091616.jpg

So I guess I’m going to leave it for now and decide later. I hope you guys enjoyed the process!

Until next time…

20131021-091747.jpg

2 thoughts on “First Art Journal page – kinda

  1. This is so beautiful! I too struggle with the ugly turn of the need to be a perfectionist. I have been working in my art journal as often as I can in the hopes that it will ease up a little bit. Perfectionist or not this page is amazing!!!

Leave a comment