Struggling with Love

I had a tough time with this one. I had an idea of what I wanted this to look like and maybe that was the issue. I should just let the materials speak to me and do what feels right at that moment.

20131107-145124.jpg

So I started this canvas by adding some texture with a heavy gesso. I also used this chipboard frame from a bag of chipboard letters and miscellaneous that my mother gave me. A friend donated it to her and she thought I could do something with the stuff. Ah! Yes! I will take any free art supplies!

20131107-145331.jpg

My daughter Belle was painting with me while I did this piece. So even though I wasn’t happy with how it was turning out I had a nice time with my girl. 🙂

20131107-145515.jpg

I added some chipboard letters and painted the whole thing hot pink.

20131107-145602.jpg

I added some white paint and used a black stamp pad on the letters. Now what?

20131107-145808.jpg

I cut a heart out of some burlap (also donated by my Mom) and I painted it white.

20131107-145919.jpg

I was not loving the pink so I deepened the pink with some mulberry paint.

20131107-150040.jpg

I felt like I wanted to bring out the frame more so I added some ribbon to it. I had to peel of the letters, but that’s what hot glue is for. Right? After this I didn’t know what I was going to do so I put it away for the night and figured that something would come to me another day.

20131107-150433.jpg

Here is the finished piece. I glued the “LOVE” back on. I also added the burlap heart, some scrapbook paper and a love quote on vellum. I felt like I should do more, but in the end I couldn’t decide what that should be. After talking with my sister and a friend. We decided it was complete.

20131107-150820.jpg

Now that I’m looking at it again after some time has passed, I am happy with it. Not everything is going to be a home run and I learned something. Don’t go into a project with a preconceived idea of what it should be. Have Fun! Play! Let it be what it will be!

Til next time,

20131107-151129.jpg

One thought on “Struggling with Love

  1. I love what you are doing. So creative. I hope I get “free enough” to play in the art studio.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

