Life Book 2014 – Week 14

This weeks lesson was a bonus one with Dyan Reaveley! This lady is quirky, over the top and AMAZING! I love her! And her Dylusions Ink Sprays!

20140410-101858.jpg

First, we started with writing. Writing whatever we wanted just as long as it filled the whole page. Then we had to just roughly sketch an apple tree and some flowers. Very simple shapes. It was fun! It reminded me of drawing when I was a little girl.

Now comes the color… I sprayed the ink on my palette and used a paintbrush to paint the shapes. If you move quickly you can blend the colors together.

20140410-102640.jpg

Then cut out the shapes and leave a bit of the white space around them.

20140410-112101.jpg

The background was made by spraying inks and sandwiching 2 pieces of paper together. The colors really blended nicely with that technique. Then you can add design to the background with stencils!

20140410-112233.jpg

Now it’s time to put it all together!

20140410-112623.jpg

She had us add some text with a stamp to the edge of the background, but if I was going to do it again I would probably leave that part off. I also hand cut some grass for the bottom of the tree. This is also where I realized that my flowers were too big. So I made some more, just smaller.

20140410-113003.jpg
I added some finishing touches, like buttons on the trees and stems, leaves and gems for the flowers. Oh! And some clouds in the sky with gesso. I like how the gesso is a little see through which is perfect for a cloud.

20140410-113124.jpg

I’ll definitely be using some of these techniques in the future. I can’t wait for the full lesson with Dyan coming up later this year!

Til next time…

20140410-113558.jpg

Leave a Reply

